Decisions From The Heart

“The problem is you make decisions with your heart”. That is an actual statement directed at me regarding a sensitive employee matter. The inference is that when the heart is accessed in making difficult employee decisions, the correct business decision will not be made. Well, I could not disagree more and I will take the next few paragraphs to explain why.

Early in my career  I had the pleasure, honor, and benefit to meet an executive who was a senior vice president and on the executive team for a multi-billion dollar company. I became friends with his family and he and I spent many hours just talking about life and business. He told me many stories about experiences he had through his career and how he always tried to do the right thing. It is from this executive, who took the time to “teach” me many valuable lessons, that I decided that I would never do anything or make a decision in business that was immoral, unethical, or illegal. Well, my Dad had a lot to do with that as well, but this executive crystallized my thinking. I still recall a powerful comment he made to me once. “Richard, it is important for you to realize that you can be a nice person and still be a success in business.”

In my opinion, doing the right thing and making decision from the heart go hand in hand. Now, before anyone believes I can’t make tough decisions when it comes to employment matters, let me walk through my philosophy. First, I believe it is important that expectations on behavior and performance are communicated clearly. No doubt can be left with what a manager or leader expects from any member of the team. This is the first ingredient to what I call the “secret sauce” for effective talent management. Clearly communicated, articulated, and understood expectations on performance and behavior.

The second ingredient is constant communication with a team member about performance and behavior against the expectations. A team member may have to be redirected to align with the expectations and there should be no hesitation from a manager or leader, even in the face of possible conflict. Helping everyone succeed should be the catalyst for ongoing communication.

The third ingredient is holding everyone accountable in meeting the expectations of performance and behavior that have been established and communicated. There are no exceptions on who is held accountable….it includes the ones we like the least and the ones we like the most. Holding others accountable should never become a beauty contest.

The fourth and final ingredient is practicing equitable, fair, and consistent consequences. Whether it is a verbal warning or a final written warning, team members must know that there are real and lasting consequences for failure to meet performance and behavior expectations that have been clearly communicated. In my career, I have terminated many team members who could not or refused to improve performance and behavior.

Making decisions with the heart when it comes to employment matters takes longer. Making decisions with the heart forces a manager or leader to actually care about others. Making decisions with the heart takes more discipline and courage.

Making decisions with the heart using the “secret sauce” is always the right thing to do. And that is worth thinking about.

Richard Davis, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
“My passion is helping to bring out the BEST in others”
HirePowerHR
richard@hirepowerhr.com
800-448-9907
Twitter: @PIPability

Leave a comment